Good timing

I’ve been considering starting a blog for a while now. Maybe because it’s been a year since I graduated college with a degree in writing and haven’t felt compelled to write about anything since. Maybe it’s because I only have one person with whom I can really talk this kind of stuff out with, and I thought a larger audience (hopefully) would help me sort out some of my thoughts. Or perhaps it’s because I’m hoping that someone out there shares my apathy about the world and can make me feel like less of a schmuck for not finding significance in what’s happening in the world to America in the same way that other Americans tend to.

So I guess I chose a good day to start this blog. In my first display of apathy, I guess Osama bin Laden is dead. Cool…?

I feel like there are 2 camps regarding this new development: those who are celebrating in the streets and those who have mixed feelings about celebrating the death of anyone, even if he was kind of a shitty dude.

My apathy about his death comes in knowing that it doesn’t change much in the grand scheme of things. Al Qaeda is still a powerful entity without him, and I’m sure they have backup leaders waiting in the wings in the event that something like this would occur. In addition, because his death came so late after 9/11, I fail to see the relationship between the two and how his death serves any purpose in righting the tragedy of that day. I’m fairly indifferent to the concept of justice in this case. My views on capital punishment are for a different post, but I rarely think death rights wrongs. Bin Laden’s demise doesn’t rebuild towers or reunite families. It’s just another event that will bring us together as a country for a short while, before we remember that we still violently disagree with our neighbors on things that are happening at home.

In the future, when my children are assigned projects with the prompts of, “Ask your parents where they were on 9/11 and where they were when they heard Osama bin Laden had been killed,” I’m not sure I’ll remember the details. I was relatively young on 9/11 — thirteen and in 8th grade homeroom when we heard the news — and didn’t completely understand the significance of the event or what it meant for my future as an American adult. I didn’t consider myself politically aware until late high school-early college, and with the views I hold now, I understand why people feel the way they do regarding bin Laden’s death. However, it just creates more questions that everyone will think they have the right answers to. It will just deepen the political divide in this country that is hindering us now more than ever.

Celebrate if you want, but don’t put me on your guest list for any parties you may throw. I’m not convinced you’re celebrating for the right reasons, whatever those may be. I’ll wait until there’s someone whose death warrants a decision.

Apathetically yours.

Leave a Reply

